Alaska DMV Practice Test 2024 (Driver’s Licence Permit)

Alaska DMV Practice Test 2024 (Driver’s Licence Permit) [PDF] with Study Guide Handbook: Alaska (AK) Download DMV and CLD driving Knowledge Permit Test with all traffic signs in printable PDF. To get a learner permit or driving license under the Division of Motor Vehicles, Alaska, you must pass the written test.

Every person who operates a motor vehicle on Alaska streets, highways, or other public property must have a valid Alaska driver’s license or permit. Alaska has seven classes of driver’s licenses and two types of permits. Classes A, B, and C are licenses used for operating commercial motor vehicles.

Alaska DMV Practice Test (Driver's Licence Permit )

Alaska DMV Practice Test 2024

Alaska Official DMV Practice Test PDF

Alaska DMV Knowledge Test 2024

If you are 16 or 17, you must have a valid instruction permit for 6 months before the DMV can issue you a provisional Class D license. Each type of non-commercial instruction permit issued is valid for 2 years and can only be renewed one time. To obtain an original instruction permit, you must satisfy the identification requirements, pass the vision and written tests, and if you are under 18 years of age, have parental consent.

Test Name Alaska Driving Knowledge Test
Online Test Fees $11.50
Test contains traffic laws, road signs, and rules of safe driving
Test purpose obtain a learner’s license permit
driver license validity 4 years
Test mode online
Total Questions 25
Questions Type multiple choice
Minimum Passing Score 80%
Minimum Driving Age 16
If you failed You can take a test up to five times within one year

DMV Requirements

Driving is a privilege, not a right. Following is information concerning a driver’s license.


  • A license may be issued to an applicant at least 16 years of age.
  • If you are under 21 years of age your driver’s license will expire 90 days after your 21st birthday. An alcohol awareness test must be passed prior to renewing.
  • Applicants who are 16 or 17 years of age must have a valid instruction permit for at least 6 months before they can be issued a license.


  • Social Security Numbers are mandatory for all permits and licenses.
  • Applicants who are 16 or 17 years of age must have a valid instruction permit for at least 6 months before they can be issued a license.

Driver’s Licence Permit Test

The examinations conducted by the Division of Alaska Motor Vehicles are designed to aid in the determination of the applicant’s mental and physical competence; also, to determine whether the applicant has acquired the knowledge and technical skills to operate a motor vehicle safely.

VISION TEST: A test is required of each driver to determine visual acuity before any license or permit is issued. To qualify you must have, in each eye or with both eyes together, at least 20/40 vision

WRITTEN TEST: The written test is required for applicants not currently licensed in Alaska or whose driving privileges have expired for over one year, or whose driving privileges have been revoked. The written test covers only information found in the Alaska DMV manual, including traffic laws, safe driving practices, and highway sign recognition

An alcohol awareness written test must be taken after your 21st birthday prior to an original or renewal driver’s license.

DRIVING TEST: Driving tests are available at most Division of Motor Vehicle offices or through state-approved third-party testers. You may be required to make an appointment, and you must pay a nonrefundable driving test fee prior to taking the driving test.

Alaska DMV Study Guide & Handbook

The purpose of this manual is to provide the reader with a general familiarity with the principles of a motor vehicle’s safe and lawful operation. To qualify for an operator’s license you must acquire knowledge, develop skills, and possess the necessary physical and mental qualifications.

Description Official Links
Take an Online Driver Exam View
Driver License Apply Online