HACCP Certification Course 2024 [UPDATED]

HACCP Certification Course 2024 [UPDATED]. Check the latest HACCP Practice test with a questions and answers quiz. Download the latest HACCP guidebook with principles.

No matter where you are in the world, on a clear night you can look up in the sky and see millions of sparkling stars in our solar system. Each of these sparkling stars is unique and different, just like the millions of food service operations in the world.

HACCP Certification Course 2024 [UPDATED]

Each food service operation is unique, whether a school or another institution, independently owned or part of a franchise. That is why every operation serving or selling food needs to have a food safety system in place that is uniquely designed to guarantee that the food being served is safe to eat. This specific food safety system is called HACCP (pronounced has-sip), or Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point. HACCP is a system composed of seven principles that are meant to be applied to a written food safety program focusing on the food in your operation.

What is HACCP?

Hazard analysis and critical control points, or HACCP is a systematic preventive approach to food safety from biological, chemical, and physical hazards in production processes that can cause the finished product to be unsafe and designs measures to reduce these risks to a safe level.

Today, HACCP principles form the basis of Food Safety Programs that are accepted worldwide. HACCP principles can be applied to processes throughout every stage of the food supply chain and are used to manage food safety across many different types of food businesses.

HACCP proves that what you do or don’t do makes a big difference in serving safe food. The goal of HACCP is to be proactive by stopping, controlling, and preventing food safety problems using prerequisite programs and the seven HACCP principles.

HACCP Certification Course 2024

Training for developing and implementing the HACCP food safety management system is offered by several quality assurance companies.

About the International Certified Food Safety Manager Program

The purpose of the CFSHM Program is for individuals to demonstrate that their knowledge and skills meet specific, measurable food safety HACCP management competencies. Only candidates who are successful in passing the written examination, meet all criteria for certification, and remain in good standing will be awarded and remain certified.

National Registry’s certification program has been developed for an individual who is a professional that has the ability to develop, implement, and maintain a risk-based food safety system by applying HACCP principles to ensure a safe food supply.

Only candidates who are successful in passing the paper and pencil or computer-based test (CBT) examination, meet all criteria for certification, and remain in good standing will be awarded and remain certified. Certification is awarded for a period of five years. Applicants must submit with their application the signed Code of Conduct in order to be considered eligible to take the certification examination. National Registry has the sole responsibility for making all Online Certification Course decisions.



Designed for Restaurant and commercial foodservice managers, wait staff, chefs, cooks, bartenders, hosts, and hostesses; General Manager, grocery manager, produce manager, store manager, assistant manager, clerk, barista, cashier, front end associate, deli/dairy/bakery manager, frozen food manager, hand dip or cafe manager, food service clerk, the night crew
Exam Food Safety Manager exam Grocery Store Food Safety Manager Exam
Accredited by ANSI under both CFP and ISO/IEC 17024 standards ANSI under CFP standards
Total Questions 80 questions and 5 pilot questions 80 questions and 5 pilot questions
Time Duration 120 minutes 120 minutes
Minimum weighted score 75 to pass 75 to pass
language for the exam English & Spanish English & Spanish

Why Is It Important to Take This Exam?

You play a major role in keeping food safe. As part of your job, you need to know how to protect the public from foodborne illness. Taking the Certified Food Safety HACCP Manager (CFSHM) Examination will help you measure how well you understand HACCP food safety principles and how to apply this knowledge in the workplace.

What is the prerequisite?

At the test site, candidates for the certification examination are required to present a form of government-issued identification that includes a photograph. Examples of acceptable forms of identification include:

  • Valid state driver’s license
  • Current passport
  • Current military identification
  • Valid state identification with photo
  • Valid Immigration and Naturalization Service Employment Authorization
  • Alien Registration Card or Document

Will it be accepted in Canada or USA?

  • The HACCP Food Safety Plan Kit was developed using the principles used by the International Standards Organization (ISO) 22000 which is accepted in Canada, USA, UK, and worldwide.

What is the basis for the exam?

  • The exam is based on a HACCP analysis of tasks you perform in your job.

What are the test languages?

  • The CFSHM examination is available in an approved and secure test administration center. The CFSHM examination is available in English and Spanish.

What subjects does the exam cover?

  • There are five broad categories of knowledge that are the focus of the exam. See  Appendix A for more details.

What type of exam will I be taking?

  • This is a 90-question, multiple-choice exam. This exam also includes several unmarked “pilot questions” which will not affect your score. Each question has only one correct answer.

See the sample questions under “What Types of Questions are on the Exam?” on pages 15 and 16.

4. How long do I have to take the exam?

  • You have up to two hours to complete the exam.

5. What is the passing score?

  • A scaled score of 75 or higher is required to pass.

6. How long is my certification valid?

  • The certificate is valid for up to five years

HACCP involves seven principles:

  1. Analyze hazards. Potential hazards associated with food and measures to control those hazards are identified. The hazards could be biological, such as a microbe, chemicals, such as a toxin, or physical, such as ground glass or metal fragments.
  2. Identify critical control points. These are points in a food’s production—from its raw state through processing and shipping to consumption by the consumer—at which the potential hazard can be controlled or eliminated. Examples are cooking, cooling, packaging, and metal detection.
  3. Establish preventive measures with critical limits for each control point. For cooked food, for example, this might include setting the minimum cooking temperature and time required to ensure the elimination of any harmful microbes.
  4. Establish procedures to monitor the critical control points. Such procedures might include determining how and by whom cooking time and temperature should be monitored.
  5. Establish corrective action to be taken when monitoring shows that a critical limit has not been met. For example, reprocessing or disposing of food if the minimum cooking temperature is not met.
  6. Establish procedures to verify that the system is working properly. For example, testing time-and temperature recording devices to verify that a cooking unit is working properly.
  7. Establish effective record keeping to document the HACCP system. This includes records of hazards and their control methods, the monitoring of safety requirements, and action taken to correct potential problems. Each of these principles must be backed by sound scientific knowledge, for example, published microbiological studies on time and temperature factors for controlling foodborne pathogens.

Study Guide

See also: